Kill The Reviews

2 Nov

Some people will tell you to take something positive from everything, and make it a learning experience.  Well I’m going to start taking these people’s advice.  They’re being assholes, sure, but who else is going to tell you like it is to your face?

It just kind of hit me after that.  Really, I’m writing reviews?  I’m condensing games that take years to evolve into complex works of art into shiny, super-edited, under-500-word reviews.  That tells nobody anything, and makes me look like an ass.

So instead of regurgitating HOT or NOT facts about games in little shrink wrapped reviews, I’m going to try something a bit different.  It might be a combination of a lot of things, but it’s going to be different — and useful.

Uhh, that is all.

One Response to “Kill The Reviews”

  1. Duncan November 4, 2008 at 2:58 am #

    Personally I find Kotaku’s shameless HOT/NOT format informative and easy to read. Which is win for me when it comes to reviews, I usually end up reading across 3-5 different sources, So ones that get to the point fast are good.

    The real question you have to ask yourself is not to do with the amount of writing you do, but what you choose to focus on. There are a ton of sites you can get your generic all around game reviews from. Most do a generic coverall of sound/graphics/gameplay. I particularly like the short EDGE magazine review because they tend to zero in on smaller details of the game; a clever mechanic or graphic look, and then go into detail on that. Wouldn’t buy a game based on it, but it gives me something I can’t read anywhere else and gives me a new angle.

Leave a Reply

