First Impression: Pure

24 Sep

I’m not sure what, exactly, I expected Pure to be, but I’ve been left a bit dazed.  It’s sure as hell not a racing game; not the kind I’ve been accustomed to the past few years.  Taking corners is not an issue, and the focus is on completing jumps and tricks in order to build boost — the hard part isn’t the racing, it’s the supplementary work.

I’m also not sure what to make of the theme.  Should I be happy that, in keeping with its old school, simple racing model, it throws out a very casual, charming retro racer vibe?  Or should I be offended that the developers think stupid wicked awesome ATV tricks are going to impress me while some overproduced pop rock track wails in the background?  I guess it depends on your perspective, or even your mood, but I’m inclined to think this is intended for an MTV-type audience.

While it’s dissapointing that there isn’t anything more to say about the gameplay than ‘easy racing, easy tricks’, it sure looks pretty and now that I think of it, what’s so bad about an easy game?  Sometimes I don’t want to explode in a fiery ball of cartwheeling wreckage every time I scratch an itch or look away from the screen.  This ATV racer could very well be the most relaxing game I’ve played in a long time, and it just might get picked off the shelf at some local game store because of that.  But my God, do not mistake Pure for a serious arcade racer; when marked under that kind of criteria it falls flat on its face, where a game like Motorstorm is much more dependable.

3 Responses to “First Impression: Pure”

  1. Mack September 24, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    Glad you brought this game up. At first I was massively indifferent but then started to hear some good things along the same lines as what you’re saying. So the million dollar question… do I buy it or rent it? I am not averse to paying full price for games if I can get 20+ hours of good old fun out of em. Also non split-screen multiplayer is very very cool.

  2. uzair September 26, 2008 at 12:20 am #

    I agree with Mack; however, its not always the same with multiplayer games such as cod4 and halo etc.

  3. uzair September 26, 2008 at 12:22 am #

    baja, anyway?

Leave a Reply

