Innovative game control sucks

20 May

I finally got around to trying the latest version of Mario Kart.

This was good because I’m a huge Mario Kart fan.

On the other hand I don’t really like the Wii. And this game finally made it clear why that is.

In the first tournament I played four races with the new standard Wii controls. I couldn’t understand how to control my character and was very frustrated. I placed 12th- aka LAST

For the second tournament I used the same control scheme but with the wheel peripheral. This one felt mildly more comfortable and I placed 10th.

Round three rolled around and I used the Wii-mote/Nunchuck combo- basically the same control scheme as every other Mario Kart but holding two input devices. Apparently this is the control scheme used by the record setters online.

Two interesting things happened:

  1. I had fun.
  2. I placed 1st.

Fuck innovation based solely on the availability of new technology- let’s have control schemes that work.

The first time somebody cut a perfect sphere out of granite they didn’t feel the need to evolve every wheel on every horse cart with one.

So why do developers try to make the Wiimote evolve every game?

One Response to “Innovative game control sucks”

  1. Little Professor April 21, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Actually, the recored setters mostly use the WiiWheels, and I know, ’cause I’m one! But I do agree. I prefer the D-pad on my Nintendo DS for Mario Kart than the WiiWheel on Wii.

Leave a Reply

