Game Critics, should we really listen?

12 Mar

GD08 Andrew Myers

I know Jules is going to have my head for this, but I have to say it.

I, for one have looked at game reviews, critics and the like for quite some time, probably ever since I got a Super Nintendo…from Nintendo Power to EGM to Game Informer, and now over the last few years the well known websites as Gamespot, IGN, and of course Metacritic.

The problem I now see is that these people have such an influence on how many copies of a game are sold.

There are many different critics in one organization.

Some are specialized to a certain genre.

People are in inherently lazy, want someone to form their opinion for them.

Average gamers don’t care if there are technical issues.

They’ve played a lot more games, have much higher standards to be impressed.

I was really excited for a certain game that came out a few years ago, it was called Dark Messiah of Might and Magic. Now, I haven’t been a big fan of “Fantasy RPG” games….but I did like Oblivion and this seemed to be the next step to go, so naturally, when it was released I downloaded the demo to try it out, I liked it…but it didn’t give me enough playtime for me to make a decision on to spend $60 on it or not. Next step, game reviews….and at the time, I was an avid viewer of Gamespot, checked out their review and in the end they gave it a 6.5/10, which in my standards isn’t worth buying. So I didn’t, and one year later I came to my senses and actually played it (friend actually forced me), and it was actually a fun game

Leave a Reply

